/ Shopping

Have you been let down by Currys PC World?

We received more than 1,700 complaints about Currys PC World through our faulty goods tool this year. Have you experienced problems with your order?

Alison, an NHS key worker, is one of many Currys customers who has been left with a faulty machine during the pandemic. When her washing machine began to leak, she told us:

“The hall and kitchen were flooded. The dryer cuts out every time you put it on too, it doesn’t do a full cycle, it’s not fit-for-purpose at all.

I work for the NHS, so I have to wash my uniform every night because of coronavirus. I’ve also been washing my stuff in the sink, but I can’t do that in the winter, it will be mouldy before it dries”

Currys PC World instructed Alison to get in touch with the manufacturer to organise an engineer visit to confirm the appliance was faulty.

Guide: Consumer Rights Act 2015

Despite numerous engineer visits and attempts to repair the leak, Alison continued to experience faults with the machine, and only used the machine on a low cycle for fear of it leaking again.

“I can’t leave the washing machine. It’s put me under so much stress, having to stand in the kitchen and watch it. I’m cross that people can treat me in such a cavalier way. All I want is my washing machine so I can get on with my life”

We got in touch with Currys and it arranged to remove and exchange Alison’s faulty machine for a more expensive model. It said:

“We are very sorry to hear about our customer’s ongoing experience with her appliance and for the manufacturer’s delay in confirming the fault, a necessary part of the process that allows us to exchange a faulty machine”

A litany of Currys complaints

Unfortunately Alison isn’t alone in her poor experience with Currys.

Scores of other customers have complained about faulty goods, missing deliveries and poor customer service since the beginning of lockdown.

We received more than 1,700 complaints about Currys PC World through our faulty goods tool between January and October this year.

One in 10 faulty goods complaints sent to us between these dates was about Currys, compared with one in 20 in the previous 10 months.

And prior to this, we heard from a string of customers who have been ripped off by Currys’ Knowhow set-up service.

‘Unprecedented demands for products’

Currys told us:

We are truly sorry to customers who haven’t received the standard of customer service we expect of ourselves. While we are fulfilling the vast majority of our services successfully, we appreciate that one complaint is one too many”

It says it’s experienced unprecedented demand for products during the pandemic and has had to adopt new ways of working since the first national lockdown, such as new training, launching a new webchat function and upgrading its systems to ensure refunds and returns are processed as quickly as possible.

If you’ve experienced poor service from Currys, we want to hear from you in the comments below.

Whether it’s with a faulty product, a delayed delivery, or poor customer service – let us know what happened.

Which is more important to you: a good deal on a product, or good aftersales customer service?
Loading ... Loading ...

Update 08/06/2021

Comments

I just tried to return an online purchase to Currys, which had become faulty within 30 days. All went well until the last section of the online return form on which you have to agree that the product you are returning ‘has not been used or installed’ otherwise the return will not be processed. Surely this can’t be right? How can I know a product is faulty unless you’ve used it?

You have a 30 day right to reject faulty goods, as explained in this Which? article: https://www.which.co.uk/consumer-rights/advice/what-do-i-do-if-i-have-a-faulty-product-aTTEK2g0YuEy

I suggest you send a link to this information, which relates to your rights under the Consumer Rights Act, 2015. Please let us know how you get on.

S Steward says:
12 January 2022

Currys – OMG too long a story to write but faulty item, meant to be replaced, wrong product resent, lies told by chat and phone cuts off, can’t speak to a person, they hang up on you. Service is shocking I will never use them again. Maybe a better firm will buy them out!!

Called Currys customer service to check they could deliver a fridge freezer to a first floor room up a flight of stairs- no problem they state. We had measured and it would pass through. I was charged for delivery and extra for delivery to any room and installation. Two Unprofessional men turned up, rude from the start, said they weren’t delivering it. Started raising their voices when I said I had already checked and paid £80 for delivery and installation. They stayed “customer services just lie to get your money and you shouldn’t have bought it then” They refused to even put in my house on ground level, at one point they dumped the fridge in my garden, banging it on the floor- no care was taken at all. I filmed them being aggressive to me, refusing g to bring it in. They then took the fridge back to an unmarked van and laughed saying they had done this a lot already this week. I asked if they actually worked for Curry’s one said yes one said no.
I called customer services to be told they would re deliver but couldn’t until the next few weeks? I asked for a full refund and they said they couldn’t give refunds, I would have to ring back and hung up! I contacted them on four more occasions to no avail. So I am £1300 out of pocket and have been treated in a disgusting manner. I want a full refund including the delivery charge and installation and never want to deal with this company ever again.

Just before Xmas we ordered a Samsung tablet but realised in less than 5 minutes we had ordered the wrong screen size. Tried to cancel immediately but were unable so the item turned up. Tried to take it back in store but was told that because we had purchased on paypal that they would have to get it collected and that we couldn’t return in store. DPD came the next day to collect it. The driver said he didn’t have the correct label for the collection as he had swapped vans that day but left us with a receipt for the collection. We still have no refund and the item was collected 13th December 2021. No-one gets back to us on the e-chat. I have now taken to twitter but still no action. Anyone know what action I can take next as this feels hopeless?

Joanne — I would suggest a formal letter to Curry’s head office indicating that you intend to assert your rights under the Consumer Rights Act 2015 and that because the company has ignored your previous contacts you will now proceed to make a court claim in the County Court for full reimbursement of your payment plus an amount for loss of use, inconvenience and expenses.

Curry’s are a total disgrace they have totally zero customer care , I purchased a £600 TV from them in Nov 2020 just before it ran out of its 1 st year warranty the speaker failed so it got sent away to their repair centre after 10 days without a tv it was sent back to the shop. I picked the tv up but it took them a full day to find the screws for the tv they had lost for the stand , I then plugged the tv in to find the speaker still had the same buzzing it had in the first place I took it back to curry’s and asked for my money back which they refused . The only option they gave me was for them to send it back to their repair shop . After another 10 days without a tv I rang them only to be told they have now smashed my tv and they was trying to find a replacement screen or they would give me a voucher or the third option was a replacement tv . However after 5 further visits and several telephone calls they just kept fobbing me off without doing any of the above options . I lost count how many times I asked their staff to ask the manager to call me I finally decided to take them to court it’s cost £70 in court fees but it’s now the 17/1/22 my tv first went to repair on the 1/11/21 they have to the 24/1/22 to reply they may be able to fob their customers off but they can’t do that to the courts , however I still receive text messages saying they are working flat out to repair my tech What a joke !!!!
David Hannay

Hi David – It’s good to hear that you are going to court and I hope that it does not take long to win your case. Please report your experience and it might encourage others to do the same. Best of luck.

When I’m being messed around my motto is: “Let’s teach business how to run a business”. Thankfully I have not yet had to go to court.

I don’t think we need to teach a business like Currys. They know exactly what they are doing.

I think Which? should take on helping a disaffected Currys’ customer with a clear-cut case by providing legal assistance and then fully publicising the case so that a much wider audience knows about Currys’ attitude to customers.

Yes – I have suggested this numerous times. Which? Legal could choose some cases to investigate and support based on contributions to this Conversation and when the court case is over, produce a report for the magazine and write a press release about what consumers have achieved. The Which? publicity machine is remarkable effective.

On the Campaigns page we are told: “Which? was created in 1957 to empower and inform consumers. Our founders wanted to make the average shopper in the street just as powerful as the companies they bought their goods and services from – and we’ve been fighting your corner ever since.”

For goodness sake help us do something positive, Which? I would not want to see the demise of Currys but the company has been letting its customers, including me, down over many years.

Hi David. I have handled many cases of this nature and large organisations will often fail to even respond to Court correspondence, often because they are handling high volumes of complaints or litigation and do not have the resources to reply within the required timeframe.

This will of course provide a satisfactory outcome for you as failure to respond will mean the Court will automatically rule in your favour. It may still take a while to receive your refund as large organisations will continue to drag their heels even after a Court Order is issued.

Please let us know the outcome.

Owain Thomas says:
26 January 2022

Ordered a camera lens in store, the order was immediately cancelled (received an email within 5 seconds stating this) due to lack of stock. However payment was taken from my card. nearly 3 weeks later, 4 phone calls to customer “services” and 2 angry visits to the store and I still have had no refund.

They have, in effect, stolen £900 from me. I’m being given the run around on the phone, with promises of managerial call backs with in 24 hours that never materialise. My next and last step is to hold a sit in protest at the store until they give me £900 from the till.

Anyone please help, I have a washing machine that imploded sending shards of glass (that are extremely sharp, not shattered safely), and Currys refuse to take the issue seriously (have you tried their “helpline” or online chat, its beyond useless

There is clearly a manufacturing fault with Currys own brand Logik washing machines, I have rung trading standards, Currys and even the newspapers, but can’t get anyone to take it seriously.

IT COULD HAVE KILLED A CHILD wither through the glass or by being pulled inside the machine., why does no one care these days about dangerous appliances. I Just want someone in authority to take is seriously and do a proper investigation so that a child is not killed

James says:
26 January 2022

I have used this company since the late 80’s for almost all my tech and appliances. And alway been able to recommended to friends and family. How times change this is the worst company I have ever dealt with. It all started 9th December 2021 when I sent my TV in for a repair, 3 attempts later and almost 3 weeks and I finally get them to replace with evouchers. My new tv was delivered broken, I called within 10 mins of the delivery and had to wait another 7 days for them to deliver a replacement. This too was damaged I also called within minutes but now there’s no stock and I’m asked to get an upload number from LG. I call Customer services as I see they have stock to ask why I haven’t received notification of when I can expect delivery but all I get is that that’s store stock not online stock. Its now 25th of January and I’m still without a Television. Our local store did have stock but the online side of this company refused to allow them to give me a TV from the store stock. I fully understand the issues with stock delays but when I see stock available on their online store I should be the first Co cideration for a delivery. I have asked on numerous occasions to be called back I’m promised within 24 hours I will get a call then it changes to 7 to 10 days its been 2 weeks and still I wait.

Lucy says:
26 January 2022

Currys,

I am writing to submit a formal complaint. I am honestly disgusted by your (lack of) customer service and awful phone lines.

Last year in January we purchased an Essentials dishwasher from you and it broke within a few months. We received the most awful customer service experience then and because of this, when we received a new one in April, your company fitted the dishwasher free of charge.

In November, the Kenwood (replacement) dishwasher broke again. After the Kenwood engineer came over, he said it had broken due to faulty fitting. It was so bad that he could shake the dishwasher, it wasn’t even fitted into the integrated unit. This has caused some issues with our brand new kitchen itself.

Since November, we have been back and forward with your team over the phone. The customer service has been shocking. When we manage to get hold of someone (after an hour on hold every time), they tell us to phone another number. Then again, after an hour on hold, they give us another number and so on. We cannot get hold of anyone and it’s disturbing our daily lives as we need to take a good 2 hours out of our day to sort this issue out.

We filed a complaint with yourselves and the man on the phone told us that someone will be calling us within 10 days, well we never received that call nor an email. It seems you just do not care about customers.

Again, we tried to phone again. My partner was very firm with one of your operators, explaining that if this isn’t sorted on the call we will be contacting the Financial Ombudsman. The operator hung up on him. Disgusting.

Then, after an hour of being on hold again we finally managed to get through to someone. They said they would organise free collection, free delivery of the new dishwasher and free fitting.

The day came where we thought would be the end of having to deal with the issues your company faces and the engineers only had a ‘collection service’, they said there was nothing in their notes to confirm they were delivering or fitting an item.
You have COLLECTED a faulty item and have not sent us a new one, or even offered a voucher or refund. It is completely disgraceful.

Fast forward to today. We have again tried to contact SOMEONE, ANYONE from your team to sort this out. Again, we are told to dial a number and choose options 442, 442 DOESNT EXIST. So we have no where else to go. We have no more energy or time to be put on hold and be told to call another number, just so that someone doesn’t have to deal with us. Or we are HUNG UP ON.

We have been hung up on, lied to, and have spent around 10-20 hours trying to get a dishwasher sorted.

Hi Lucy,

Many of these large organisations are simply not adequately staffed to handle call volumes, this being the reason that call waiting times are excessive. Additionally, many customer service staff have continued to work from home, but when staff are working remotely, they are not accountable in the same way they would be when working in an office and this has led to quite awful customer service.

Assuming you have engaged in some email correspondence with Curry’s and have documented evidence of your attempts to get this resolved, I would be inclined to avoid any further stress by attempting to resolve this by telephone and instead commence Court Action to recover the cost of the goods, plus compensation for the inconvenience and stress you have suffered.

Before commencing Court Action you must advise Curry’s in writing, which you can do by email, stating that unless the issue is resolved to your satisfaction within 7 Days, you will commence legal proceedings without further notice. If they fail to respond, then start legal proceedings, which you can do online relatively quickly. Court fees vary depend on the amount you are claiming, but they are not excessive and any costs you incur will be recovered from Curry’s. You should claim for the cost of the goods, any other costs you have incurred (cost of telephone calls for example) and a reasonable amount for compensation.

Organisations that are under resourced will often fail to respond to legal proceedings, so a judgement would be made in your favour and Curry’s would be ordered to pay whatever amount you have claimed.