/ Shopping

Have you been let down by Currys PC World?

We received more than 1,700 complaints about Currys PC World through our faulty goods tool this year. Have you experienced problems with your order?

Alison, an NHS key worker, is one of many Currys customers who has been left with a faulty machine during the pandemic. When her washing machine began to leak, she told us:

“The hall and kitchen were flooded. The dryer cuts out every time you put it on too, it doesn’t do a full cycle, it’s not fit-for-purpose at all.

I work for the NHS, so I have to wash my uniform every night because of coronavirus. I’ve also been washing my stuff in the sink, but I can’t do that in the winter, it will be mouldy before it dries”

Currys PC World instructed Alison to get in touch with the manufacturer to organise an engineer visit to confirm the appliance was faulty.

Guide: Consumer Rights Act 2015

Despite numerous engineer visits and attempts to repair the leak, Alison continued to experience faults with the machine, and only used the machine on a low cycle for fear of it leaking again.

“I can’t leave the washing machine. It’s put me under so much stress, having to stand in the kitchen and watch it. I’m cross that people can treat me in such a cavalier way. All I want is my washing machine so I can get on with my life”

We got in touch with Currys and it arranged to remove and exchange Alison’s faulty machine for a more expensive model. It said:

“We are very sorry to hear about our customer’s ongoing experience with her appliance and for the manufacturer’s delay in confirming the fault, a necessary part of the process that allows us to exchange a faulty machine”

A litany of Currys complaints

Unfortunately Alison isn’t alone in her poor experience with Currys.

Scores of other customers have complained about faulty goods, missing deliveries and poor customer service since the beginning of lockdown.

We received more than 1,700 complaints about Currys PC World through our faulty goods tool between January and October this year.

One in 10 faulty goods complaints sent to us between these dates was about Currys, compared with one in 20 in the previous 10 months.

And prior to this, we heard from a string of customers who have been ripped off by Currys’ Knowhow set-up service.

‘Unprecedented demands for products’

Currys told us:

We are truly sorry to customers who haven’t received the standard of customer service we expect of ourselves. While we are fulfilling the vast majority of our services successfully, we appreciate that one complaint is one too many”

It says it’s experienced unprecedented demand for products during the pandemic and has had to adopt new ways of working since the first national lockdown, such as new training, launching a new webchat function and upgrading its systems to ensure refunds and returns are processed as quickly as possible.

If you’ve experienced poor service from Currys, we want to hear from you in the comments below.

Whether it’s with a faulty product, a delayed delivery, or poor customer service – let us know what happened.

Which is more important to you: a good deal on a product, or good aftersales customer service?
Loading ... Loading ...

Update 08/06/2021

Comments
Portia Roberts-Popham says:
20 June 2021

I purchased a laptop from currys on the advice of an online advisor who searched and found it for me after I had given him my specifications (i7, 1TSSD and a numerical key pad). He even told me to look at the website (you had to open a new tab) for a view. It arrived this morning and when my daughter unpacked it and loaded windows etc. I noticed that it didn’t have the numerical key pad. I contacted the help line laughingly called Team Knowhow and during the 2hrs 26mins and 35 secs call managed to speak to 6 people who basically told me that I should take them to court if I wasn’t happy! and that because I didn’t have the name of the person who advised me online – it didn’t matter that the picture on their website was wrong (apparently for illustrative purposes only). So when an expert from the company tells me about the specification – am I supposed to question his technical knowledge.

Em says:
20 June 2021

Just send it back for a full refund. As you bought the laptop remotely, you have a right to return it under the Consumer Contracts Regulations. See Which? for more information.

Em says:
20 June 2021

Then go direct to Dell, HP or Lenovo and tick the specifications you need – including Numeric Key Pad, SSD, 1TB and I7. You don’t need Currys “experts” to do this. You can also get online advice and support from these companies. If you are prepared to wait or shop around, you should be able to get 10% or more off with a promo code.

Giorgio says:
21 June 2021

I bought an iPhone 12 Pro Max 256GB online with a gift card. Soon after receiving the iPhone I noticed there was an issue with the camera that caused a glare in pictures that I took. I then brought the iPhone to an apple store that confirmed there was a hairline crack in the camera lens which was a manufacturing defect. They offered to fix it for me for free, but I would be without my phone for at least 5 days which would have been really inconvenient as I use it for work. They then suggested as the defect has happened within 30 days of purchase I could return it to Currys for an exchange for a new one. I then called Currys customer services department to arrange the exchange but the iPhone was out of stock, and the customer service agent confirmed they could drop off a new one and pick up the defected one at the same time, which was great as I wouldn’t be without a mobile phone when it was back in stock. I opted to wait until it came back into stock, which was 3 months later, on the 14/06/2021.

I immediately called that morning to arrange the exchange again and I was then told that a same day pick up and drop off would not be possible, it would be at least 5 days for a new one to arrive. This of course was maddening to hear as there was no advantage in me waiting for stock to arrive as I just could have given it to apple. I decided to go ahead with the exchange regardless and having to use a very old phone for the mean time. The iPhone was received back to currys I believe on the 16/06/2021 after a DPD collection. I was told that I could expect to receive the new iPhone the following week. To check the status of my exchange I spoke to a webchat agent on the site on the 18/06/2021. She proceeded to tell me that I wasn’t getting a new iPhone and that a refund was being issued. Completely baffled I demanded to know why this was the case and I was told the iPhone was back out of stock, even though the website said there was still stock at the time. So I called customer service immediately after the webchat and they then told me the webchat agent was wrong, and that my exchange had been approved and new iPhone was on the way. I couldn’t have been clearer and asked, am I definitely 100% getting an iPhone next week which the agent on the phone replied yes.

I then received an email the next day telling me that the iPhone was out of stock and stock was expected the week following the 21/06/20201, which is today. So I called customer service again and asked how is this possible as I was promised a new phone this week. They said they don’t know why the pervious person said that and that they have no idea when they’ll be getting stock in. Im absolutely furious about this, I asked to speak to a manager and I was told none are available at the moment but I will get a call back before end of business today. That call back never happened.

So now I’m being offered a gift card with the money back or to wait for an unknown time for the iPhone to come back into stock. The gift card is useless to me, I need the iPhone as I’m using a phone so old I cant work on it. I was told that a cash refund wouldn’t be possible because I paid with a gift card.

Is this acceptable customer service? I have been lied to on multiple occasions, and now they’ve left me completely without a phone and having to wait possibly months again for this to be rectified. Its a serious amount of money I’m now out of pocket for, £1200. It’s a lot of money and because of the shoddy customer service I don’t have my money so I cant go to apple to buy a new one and I don’t have phone. Id rather have my old phone back but I was told this cant happen either. How is this acceptable? When an exchange was requested why wasn’t one put to the side for me?

I can not believe the incompetence and miscommunication the customer service department seem to be happy with. Totally unacceptable.

Hi Giorgio – Since you reported the problem within 30 days you are entitled to claim a full refund, as explained in this Which? article: https://www.which.co.uk/consumer-rights/advice/what-do-i-do-if-i-have-a-faulty-product-aTTEK2g0YuEy

You do NOT have to accept a gift card and Currys should refund your money promptly.

If you need help you could subscribe to Which? Legal.

I strongly suggest buying Apple products direct from Apple.

As far as I know you paid with a gift card the refund will be made back to the same gift card. Which?’s link to check this does not work.

Hi wavechange, thanks for the quick reply.

Currys are adamant that due to the iPhone being paid for by form of giftcard, the refund can only be refunded to a giftcard again. I cant see anything on the link you provided that disagrees with that unless I’ve missed it.

Thanks again.

Hi Giorgio – Sorry but I missed your point about having paid by a giftcard. I hope this is sorted out soon and you have a working phone. Best of luck.