/ Scams

Scam alert: fake ‘Consumers Association’ gift card email


email today from DVLA informing me that i am due a rebate as i have overpaid on my car tax. i deleted it.

I have had a scam on games and it says £1 for six days and if you don’t cancel it cost £17,99,per month,but I never even seen this I am nearly 80 years old partially sighted ,lost my husband in 2020 ,but my problems is the banks I have had a problem getting bank statements l phone every month and it can be months on coming not everyone is computer clever they keep saying get on line banking well I can hardly see small print so on line BANKING is out ,but I was scammed for £120 pounds ,but I went on line with the help of a friend and spoke to a super lady from the fraud office of tsb ,and she helped me out ,but pensioners don’t know if they have been scammed because they are not getting bank statements. It Is the only way some pensioners can keep track of there money ,why has the banks stopped sending statements.

I received a phone call today from mobile number 07811 719663 informing my that my National Insurance Number had been compromised !!!!! If you call this number back, there is no contact.

Edmund Jones says:
12 January 2021

I don’t like returning unknown calls as it may be a high premium charge return call scam.

I don’t know about other email accounts but my Mozilla Thunderbird displays as the first line of the technical details who sent the email, subject, to, date etc. I frequently get scam emails from the Inland Revenue, British Gas and others which clearly are not from these concerns because I can see that their name is not in the From line

Email from (supposedly) Royal Mail saying that they are holding a parcel for me but I need to pay £2.95 as there was not enough postage on it.
definitely a scam, as a) I was not expecting any parcels and b) when I lingered the mouse the sender was in Holland and certainly not Royal Mail.

Jim Fraser says:
15 January 2021

I have just received an email purporting to be from Estra Information Group on behalf of PETA UK. On searching that address I see that the underlying address is mail@newshowdeck.co.uk.

This email is asking for donations to help stop the cruelty to animals (mainly dogs) in China. I suspect it is a scam but I would be grateful if it could be confirmed either way.

Thank you

[Moderator: this website appears to be a scam website. We’ve retained the URL to help you identify it, but we’ve redirected the link to our guidance on how to spot fraudulent website. ]

You can stop emails from direct marketing companies by registering your email address with the direct marketing association email preferences service. This will reduce the emails and any you do get are more likely to be scams. Another good idea is to have an email address for family and friends, a seperate one for companies you buy from, and one that you use to login to websites that you are not going to buy from. If you then get an email to your website login email address showing its from your bank etc you know its a scam.

There must be easier ways to avoid getting scam and nuisance e-mails because I don’t receive more than two or three a year and those are from oddballs who acquired my e-mail address many years ago. They are now blocked. Same with nuisance phone calls – we just don’t get them.

Pearl Jackson says:
25 February 2021

Within the last week I have had a call on my mobile phone telling me unless I don’t press 1 on my phone and get connected to them I will be arrested shortly, they did not say what I had done to be arrested! I’ve had quite a few of these calls previously. Then I had a call on my home phone telling my someone has used my Amazon account up to the value of £3000 and they wanted me to ring them. I do not have an Amazon account that I have used in years! I also had a text a couple of days ago that was sent with a warning it may be spam, supposedly from Hermes telling me they were sorry the they were unable to deliver my parcel and wanted me to call a number. I know the lady who delivers our parcels from Hermes, she leaves them in a safe place and I was not waiting for a delivery! My friend who is a very on the ball 83 year old gets lots of scam calls, always on his home phone, but he does have a mobile, and a lot of his calls are telling him his internet will be cut off ect ect, he finds it very funny as he has no internet and never will have. A few years ago my sister fell for the one where they call you and tell you they have to take over your computer as there is a problem, but she suddenly realized what she’d done and called my son in IT and he managed to help her from losing everything! I have not heard of this one for a while now, perhaps we are all too aware of it now?

I have received emails appearing to be from Which offering a “Scam Protection Toolkit” but sent via bounce.bluestatedigital.com which makes me think it is a scam.

Happy to confirm that email is legitimate and from Which?, Ivan (Blue State Digital is one of the email services we use).

If you ever need it, there’s guidance on how to tell what a legitimate Which? email looks like here: https://www.which.co.uk/help/faqs#comms

Keith L says:
6 May 2021

I have now received three emails over the last few weeks from Which “scam alert service” which appears at first glance to be perfectly legitimate and well constructed, using which? logos and useful information. I am signed up to receive information from Which? in this regard. However, there are numerous links within the email that link to a web address through “www.e-activist.com” which is worrying as I am unsure if this is Which? or not. There is even a link to report emails that may be a scam, which shows as also going to an e-activist address. I haven’t clicked on any of the links out of an abundance of caution. If I am right to have been cautious, what worries me is that many will not have, it is very convincing indeed. Also, if it is a scam in itself, how the hell did they get my email address and know I was subscribed to the service? It makes me wonder if Which? themselves have been compromised. Hopefully someone will quickly tell me e-activist.com is legitimate and Which? is linked to this web address…

Hi Keith, I have the same emails addressed to me by name.

I agree with you that at first glance they look legitimate until you look at the links. They certainly don’t appear to have come from Which? who should be setting a good example as they are alerting us to scams and scam behaviour.

The change of email to act.which.co.uk should also be treated as a warning. Couldn’t anyone set up an email address ending @ImAscammer.which.co.uk ?

The sign up here also goes to the e-activist site so another warning that the email is fake.

What is more concerning to me is the link to ‘Five warning signs’ that Kaspersky doesn’t rate as safe (grey icon)

A cut-down version of the email:

Is this a test to see if we are on the ball?