/ Scams

Scam alert: ignore these fake Currys emails

Currys isn’t offering you a ยฃ500 voucher or a free Dyson V11 to ‘reward your feedback’. Here’s what the fake emails look like.

Two emails purporting to have been sent by Currys PC World have been confirmed as fakes by the business. The first uses recognisable brand colours and logos in an attempt to deceive people into ‘winning’ a ยฃ500 gift card.

But the email is nothing to do with Currys and is an attempt to send you through to third-party sites that will likely eventually request sensitive information.

The second email follows similar tactics by promising something for nothing: in this case a Dyson V11. You may recall similar emails from last year regarding Dyson ‘loyalty programs’ that were nothing to do with the brand.

Both of these emails contain tactics that we’ve seen many, many times before with phishing emails; promising something for nothing and attempting to get you to click through without first scrutinising the email in detail. In both cases, the senders’ email was nothing to do with Currys, while both were linking through to suspicious websites.

Currys’ย response

Currys confirmed that both emails are fakes. A spokesperson said:

โ€œWe have been alerted to this phishing email from customers and colleagues and in no part has this activity been undertaken by our business. Unfortunately there are a large number of cyber criminals who are constantly attempting to dupe unsuspecting shoppers. We would encourage people to be vigilant and ensure that any emails they are receiving from outside parties are genuine before opening or interacting with them.

If a genuine communication is being sent by Currys, it will always haveย currys.co.uk in the email address. If people do spot a suspicious email we would urge them to report it to the Suspicious Email Reporting Service which has been set up by the Government to combat this behaviour: report@phishing.gov.ukโ€

As always, if you think you may have handed over sensitive information, such as bank details, to fraudsters, it’s imperative that you alert your bank as soon as possible.

Guide: how to spot a scam

Guide: how to get your money back after a scam

We’re keen to hear if you’ve received similar emails impersonating Currys or any other retailers. Please let us know in the comments, and make use of our Scams Sharer tool.


I just assume that all ads and phone calls offering something for nothing are scams. I recently had a phone call allegedly form John Lewis Finance who addressed me by my full name including middle name which I do not use. I immediately knew it was a scam and this was confirmed when I rang JL as they confirmed they had not called me. If you express concerns to a genuine caller they will ask you to contact them through the regular channels. This individuals did not. Anyway, I gave him a really hard time and, so far at least, no further attempted scam calls. I also have a second phone that I do not use for calls to send confirmatory text messages for transactions such as the bank, credit cards, eBay, Amazon etc. That way if my phone is cloned they cannot get money or goods.

Glyn Edward Harris says:
12 March 2022

I had an email allegedly from Virgin Media saying that my email account needed updating and of 15th March I would be unable to send messages or attachments. It immediately raised me suspicions as it started ‘Dear Customer’ – if writing to me about a specific prblem why not use my name? And the relpy response address was to hotmail; why would Virgin use that address. Virgin confirmed me suspicions-

Dear Customer is used for false phishing emails on PayPal – as one never used to notice the start of it. Any doubt and I always check SENDER EMAIL ADDRESS first

John M Hughes says:
12 March 2022

Often, it is so easy to just check the senders details at the top of the email.
I had one last week purporting to be from BT and when I checked the sender’s email the address it came from a G mail account not BT.
In fact, I have had several from BT over the last few weeks and have just deleted them.
I work on the assumption that if a company is going to stop my account, I assume that it’s fake and delete it and if it turns out to be genuine and my account is actually stopped, then I will take action to reinstate it.
Last week, I was informed that my Tidal account was not up to date with payments.
The email looked genuine enough, but I wasn’t prepared to trust the link and went into my account and fair enough it was genuine because a card had expired.

What is Tidal please?

A quick internet search shows that it is a high fidelity music streaming website.

Brian Brooks says:
12 March 2022

Had a very similar thing from Tescoโ€™s. I just binned it

Ken Roberts says:
12 March 2022

I have had a fair few of the common scams and phishing emails which I just delete. I also get a lot of repeated sales ads from the States, which I am tempted to unsubscribe from, but tend to resist in case that allows them to pass on my email address to other companies. Is that a good move, I ask myself??

Being aware of the lack of security on the Currys web system I think the scammers would have a much easier time by getting all that they want direct from Currys!

Chris says:
12 March 2022

In the article Which? refers to “suspicious websites”. What are the authorities doing to take down these websites and punish the hosts providers who permit such websites to proliferate. These hosts should closed down penalised.

Since they commonly housed inside Russia, what do YOU think the Russian ‘authorities’ are going to do about them? The Web is World Wide, didn’t you know?

John Jones says:
12 March 2022

I had an email recently from Royal Mail stating that they could not deliver my parcel on the day. If I wanted it then I would have to pay for delivery. Needless to say I ignored it.

Anura says:
12 March 2022

I think you have to ask yourself how likely it is that a company would give away ยฃ500 (or goods to the value of) in response to filling in a few words in a survey – particularly if this hasn’t been part of a national advertising campaign. Do yourself a favour and just delete this sort of stuff out of hand.

Bob says:
12 March 2022

Scammers are looking for victims who are ‘greedy’ Remember, there’s no such thing as a free lunch!

Jim Entwistle says:
15 March 2022

As the old adage goes, “If it looks too good to be true then it most probably is.” I delete all e-mails automatically if I don`t recognise the sender. Haven`t got time reading rubbish & if it`s legitimate and
something important they`ll get in touch by another method. Same procedure with phone calls, unless I`m in wind up mode.

Brenda babbs says:
15 March 2022

Had someone text me on wattsap proporting to be my son asking me to lend them money ask how their girlfriend was (he’s married) soon got rid of them he’s been married for 20 years.

shipment tracking โ€ข sed.ws@yandex.com

Another parcel scam wanting to pay shipment

[Moderator: this website appears to be a scam website. We’ve retained the URL to help you identify it, but we’ve redirected the link to our guidance on how to spot fraudulent website. ]

shipment tracking โ€ข sed.ws@yandex.com

Another parcel scam

[Moderator: this website appears to be a scam website. We’ve retained the URL to help you identify it, but we’ve redirected the link to our guidance on how to spot fraudulent website. ]

karlmitch32, ๐Ÿšจ59 823,50 ๐Ÿ’ฒ๐ŸšจA๐—ฑ๐—ฑ๐—ฒ๐—ฑ ๐˜๐—ผ ๐˜†๐—ผ๐˜‚๐—ฟ ๐—ฎ๐—ฐ๐—ฐ๐—ผ๐˜‚๐—ป๐˜, ๐Ÿ’ฐCO๐—ป๐—ณ๐—ถ๐—ฟ๐—บ ๐—ถ๐˜ ๐—ป๐—ผ๐˜„ ๐—ฏ๐—ฒ๐—ณ๐—ผ๐—ฟ๐—ฒ ๐—ฒ๐˜…๐—ฝ๐—ถ๐—ฟ๐—ฎ๐˜๐—ถ๐—ผ๐—ป๐Ÿ’ฐ # Mon, 14 Mar 2022 03:41:20 -0400______#73901


Do not fill in details they will call constant

Welcome to the interactive parcel management system.
I’m your virtual guide Suzy and I’ll be helping you today.
Please confirm that this is your tracking number: 371-34632900
Yes, that is correct!
Thank you for confirming, # 371-34632900 !
We have a parcel with you as a recipient, but the label was damaged – attached is a picture of your parcel.

Please indicate if we should deliver this parcel to a private or a business address?
Private address
Business address

So the same as royal mail just a different layouts